The old Baileys Harbor lighthouse is commonly referred to as the "bird cage." Cana Island Lighthouse. Hours: Open Daily, 10am - 5pm May 1-October 31 Established 1869, automated 1923. I:351 Bailey's Harbor Range Lights (Baileys Harbor), near Bailey's Harbor, Door County, WisconsinBAILEYS HARBOR RANGE LIGHTSLocation: DOOR PENINSULA/LAKE MICHIGANStation Established: … The lighthouse can be viewed from various places along the Baileys Harbor waterfront, including Ridges Road, near the Baileys Harbor range lights. The land Ridges Sanctuary occupies almost became a trailer park. The keeper’s house becomes the Ridges office. 1870: The Range Lights go into service. In 1896, Henry H. Gattie was transferred to the Baileys Harbor Range Lights from Sturgeon Bay Ship Canal Light Station. Use the Trip Planner to track all the businesses, activities, and events that interest you. Baileys Harbor Range Lights These range lights helped guide boats to the safety of Baileys Harbor for 100 years, between 1869 and 1969. Baileys Harbor Range Lights, Robert Girod, 1947. He is replaced by Joseph Harris Jr., son of the editor of The Door County Advocate. 1965: Care of The Range Lights was transferred to The Ridges. ©2020 Destination Door County. The 150th anniversary celebration of the Baileys Harbor Range Lights runs from 3 to 6 p.m. Friday at the Range Lights at The Ridges Sanctuary, 8288 Door County Q, Baileys Harbor. They were automated in 1923. 8166 Hwy 57 Baileys Harbor , Wi 54202, Visit Website http://www.ridgessanctuary.org/visit-us/range-lights. 1934: The Bureau of Lighthouses deeds the 40-acre site to the Door County Park Commission. Get Door County news and events delivered to you daily! This lighthouse, paired with the Baileys Harbor Front Range Lighthouse, formed the Baileys Harbor Range Lights.These two lighthouses worked together to safely guide mariners into the harbor. were considered a more effective way to keep A half mile down the road, the Lower Range Light will be visible from the left side of the road. The Range Lights at The Ridges Sanctuary in Baileys Harbor were built just after Civil War. ships off the treacherous reefs and shallows at 2. Tours are free for members and $5 for non-members (included in day pass). The light is now … In this book, Baileys Harbor Range Lights Rascal, the boys find an injured crow they name “Rascal,” who follows the boys activities and becomes an important part of their adventures in Baileys Harbor. To learn more about these historic structures or how to volunteer, visit ridgessanctuary.org or … He was an eligible and handsome bachelor, and was so popular that his name and social doings appeared often in the newspaper’s society column. at 22 feet above the water. The range lights replaced the Baileys Harbor Lighthouse in 1870 at a cost of $6,000. 1869: Fabien Truedell (74 years-old) is appointed the first keeper of the lights. Range Lights. It features a full exhibit, focusing on the cultural and natural history of The Ridges a sailor got “on range” by vertically aligning The range lights in the harbor and the lighthouse on Cana Island were completed during 1869 and would take over the function of marking Bailey Harbor and lighting the coast starting in early 1870. 1875: Lucy, the wife of Marcus Shaler, is a victim of a typhoid outbreak. They walk past two 1870 range lights on a boardwalk lined by endangered dwarf lake iris. Willie and Charlie Larson lived at the Baileys Harbor Range Lights from 1882-1888. Photo by Len Villano. the entrance to Baileys Harbor. To fully enjoy this site, please enable your JavaScript. The light is now privately owned. No visit to The Ridges would be complete without experiencing the iconic Baileys Harbor Range Lights. He didn’t know how to run the pump for the and, by the time he figured it out, so much pressure had built up that it blew the hose off the truck. Sign up for Door County's monthly newsletter and receive vacation itineraries, travel tips and ideas, event announcements, and exclusive giveaways in your inbox. Baileys Harbor Range Lights History. Tour the historic Baileys Harbor Range Lights —built in 1869 to guide ships into the harbor. 1872: Marcus Shaler is the new keeper. W:37 Baileys Harbor Range Lights View our Email Privacy Policy. Reverend Robert Girod and his wife tried to fight a brush fire that threatened their home (the keeper’s house). They had to call the fire department. In June, they search for 25 species of orchids. 1966: Roy Lukes moves into the keeper’s house when he is hired to teach middle school science at Gibraltar. The 2017 Tour Schedule will be available in April. Chequamegon Point Light (1896) Location: Long Island/Chequamegon Bay Apostle Islands National Lakeshore . The Ridges Sanctuary manages the Baileys Harbor Range Lights, and will celebrate 150 years on June 7. 1882: Burr Caswell is new keeper. Thinking of visiting ? Traven is the son of Ridge’s founder, Olivia Traven. Built in 1869 and added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1989, the Upper Range Light and its companion Lower Range Light are the only lighthouses of this design that are still on range and functional as navigational aids. This coincided with the opening of the Baileys Harbor Range Lights and Cana Island Lighthouse in 1870. History. history of Baileys Harbor and in the founding 920-743-5958. 1896: Henry Gattie is new keeper. as navigational aids. At the time they were built, the Range Lights 1923: Gattie is transferred to Cana Island when the Range Lights were converted to an unmanned acetylene gas system. R:0. Range Light are the only lighthouses of this of The Ridges. All Rights Reserved. Shaler retires out of grief. Range Lights, Baileys Harbor (Built 1869; Automated 1923; Lights Removed 1969) In 1867, the Inspector for the 11th Lighthouse District reported that Baileys Harbor was the only harbor refuge north of Milwaukee and that the approach to the harbor was marked by the Baileys Harbor Light on the east side of the harbor. Drive or bike the Rustic Roads of Ridges Road and County Q for a look at a … No visit to The Ridges Sanctuary in Baileys Harbor, WI would be complete without experiencing the iconic Baileys Harbor Range Lights. Replaced by the Baileys Harbor Range Lights and the Cana Island Lighthouse in 1869. 1989: The Range Lights are added to the National Register of Historic Places. 1937: Emma Toft leads a protest against the building of a trailer park on the property evolves into the forming of the Ridges Sanctuary. The old Baileys Harbor lighthouse is commonly referred to as the "bird cage." without experiencing the iconic Baileys Harbor Each is worth a visit and a photo. 1901: Despite the heartbreak of many women, Gattie marries Eva Hendrick in February. 2016: The Ridges retained preservation architect Laura Davis of Isthmus Architecture in Madison to prepare a Historic Structures Report for the Upper Range Light. The lights guided vessels in a northwesterly direction through the treacherous shallows and reefs of the bay. The Baileys Harbor Range Lights were built to allow mariners a safer harbor passage than the Old Baileys Harbor Lighthouse afforded. No visit to The Ridges would be complete without experiencing the iconic Baileys Harbor Range Lights. Since 1956, the Florian II Lakeshore Supper Club has been a staple … You may opt-out at any time. Florian II Lakeshore Supper Club. History of the Baileys Harbor Rear Range Lighthouse. 1930: The lights are wired for electricity, and the keeper’s house, shuttered for seven years, becomes the parsonage for Immanuel Lutheran Church. Built in 1869 and added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1989, the Upper Range Light and its companion Lower Range Light are the only lighthouses of this design on the Great Lakes that are still on range and functional as navigational aids. Please respect the privacy of the owners. The first lighthouse was a circular stone structure with an iron top that resembled a birdcage. During Roy Luke’s time at the keeper’s house, it had a narrow escape when it was hit by a lightning bolt that threw Lukes across the room, set curtains on fire and blew the door off the fuse box. Built in 1869 and added to the Posted/Updated by Bryan Penberthy on 2007-12-02.. When the upper and lower lights were parallel to each other, sailors know they were in safe water. with the Lower Range Light’s red beacon, fixed Henry Gattie (right) was the last lightkeeper in the Range Lights, serving until the lights were electrified. Baileys Harbor Range Front Light Baileys Harbor 45°04′13″N 87°07′11″W  /  45.0704°N 87.1198°W  / 45.0704; -87.1198  ( Baileys Harbor Range Front The lighthouse was built on an island near Baileys Harbor in 1852 and removed from service in 1869 when the Baileys Harbor Range Lights were built. 1962: The Golke family moved when Ruby’s oldest son began college. Baileys harbor Rear Range Lights Lighthouse, 560 feet southeast Baileys Harbor Ridges Park Park, 680 feet east The Ridges Sanctuary Nature Center Tourism office, 1500 feet southwest The birdcage light was situated in exactly the wrong place and probably caused more shipwrecks than it prevented. shone at a height of 39 feet above the water, Today the island is privately owned and the lighthouse is in decay but still standing. From the water, Every May, wildflower followers find their way to Baileys Harbor. Directions: Take Highway 57 north from the Baileys Harbor Town Hall. Both the Upper and Lower Range Lights have been identified as two of the only surviving examples of range lights in Wisconsin. structures played a critical role in the 1015 Green Bay Road, PO Box 406, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-0406 | PH: 920-743-4456 or 1-800-527-3529. Baileys Harbor Range Lights (1869) Location: Door Peninsula/Lake Michigan . In December 1869, on the final day of navigation for the season, the light was extinguished for the last time. 1944-1953: Reverend Robert Girod and his wife occupied the keeper’s house. 1868: Congress appropriates $6,000 to build a lighthouse on Cana Island and the two range lights. 1955: The church’s use of the keeper’s house ended. Take a naturalist-led tour or hike the paths on your own. Also in 1895, a 1,074-foot-long sidewalk was laid through the swamp to link the front and rear range lights, and 120 feet of sidewalk were built between the oil house and the dwelling. National Register of Historic Places in 1989, Between 1869 and 1969 these range lights were used by navigators to safely enter Baileys Harbor. See the latest COVID-19 travel updates for Door County here. Lighthouses of Door County- Baileys Harbor Range Lights Located just outside Baileys Harbor, Wisconsin, on Ridges drive, the Range Lights were used to guide ships into Baileys Harbor. Henry Gattie became the keeper of the Range Lights in 1896 and held the post for 27 years. Cana Island Light (1869) Location: Lake Michigan/Baileys Harbor/North Bay . The Range Lights were built in tandem with the Cana Island Lighthouse and the Birdcage was decommissioned. The light is now privately owned. The Ridges Nature Center, 8166 Hwy 57. 1982: Roy and Charlotte move. S:0 Miles of rustic trails, bridges, and wildflowers. the white light in the Upper Range Light, which The Baileys Harbor Range Lights took over the function of marking Baileys Harbor in 1870. However, only a mechanic’s helper was in the building at the time and was reluctant to leave. There is a Family Discovery Tour where kids can explore nature through a series of activities. The pastor is responsible for minor maintenance of the lights. No visit to The Ridges would be complete The unique attraction of these lighthouses was the upper and lower lights. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1989, as reference number 89001466 as the Baileys Harbor Range Light. Later replaced by George Larson. (Left to right) Marge Binder, Lee Traven, and Sarah Wright pictured by the Lower Range Light. The story was hushed up, Girod said, because they didn’t want people to think the fire department was undependable. Ruby Golke and her children won the bid. In 1867, the Inspector for the 11th Lighthouse District reported that Baileys Harbor was the only harbor refuge north of Milwaukee and that the approach to the harbor was marked by the Baileys Harbor Light on the east side of the harbor. 8166 Hwy 57 Baileys Harbor, WI 54202 We are located in the heart of Baileys Harbor, WI, directly on the corner of HWY 57 and Ridges Road. A handsome bachelor when he moved into the keeper’s house, his social activities were eagerly followed in the Advocate until he married Eva Hendrick of Baileys Harbor on February 18, 1901. 1869: Fabien Truedell (74 years-old) is appointed the first keeper of the lights. The Coast Guard took bids for renting it to the public. 1996: New lights are installed in the lantern rooms and are lit occasionally. Call the Door County Chamber of Commerce for more information. 2012: Restoration for Lower Range Light is completed. Their father, Captain George Larson, was the Lighthouse Keeper. Both built in 1869-1870, 'this rather odd-looking set of buildings is a unique duo of Wisconsin lights. Henry Gattie (right) was the last lightkeeper in the Range Lights, serving until 1930 when the lights were electrified. Today, it is privately owned and can only be viewed from the water. They are approximately 980 feet (300 m) apart and aligned on a 340° bearing line to guide boats safely into the harbor. Range Lights, Baileys Harbor. 1868: Congress appropriates $6,000 to build a lighthouse on Cana Island and the two range lights. The Birdcage Lighthouse is currently owned privately, but can be seen across the harbor through the telescope on the town marina. 2015: The Ridges received approval to “relight the ranges as private aids to navigation.”. Turn RIGHT onto Ridges Rd. Their mother, Gertrude, was originally from Racine, WI, and the family returned there after their time in Baileys Harbor. baileys harbor range lights Built in 1869, automated in 1972, these Door County lighthouses are part of the Ridges Sanctuary and viewable in a self-guided tour. 8800 East Cana Island Road Baileys Harbor, WI 54202. On strips of wetland called swales, they look for bogbean and goldthread. The lighthouse was built on an island near Baileys Harbor in 1852 and removed from service in 1869 when the Baileys Harbor Range Lights were built.  Send Email. The Baileys Harbor Range Lights. The Nature Center provides a visible public entrance to the Sanctuary. Situated within the grounds of The Ridges Sanctuary, the Baileys Harbor Range Lights actually replaced a failed first attempt in 1852. the Upper Range Light and its companion Lower Tickets on Sale for Two Lighthouse Festivals, Learn about Baileys Harbor Range Lights from Ed Miller, Sesquicentennial Celebration for Baileys Harbor’s Lighthouses, Celebrating Lighthouses’ Sesquicentennials. Built in 1869 and added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1989, the Upper Range Light and its companion Lower Range Light are the only lighthouses of this design that are still on range and functional as navigational aids. State Representative Joel Kitchens reading a citation for the Range Lights at The Ridges Sanctuary, Inc. This fictitious tale takes our readers back to the 1880’s in Baileys Harbor and … Wisconsin officials mull November absentee voting … design that are still on range and functional Three of the county’s 11 lighthouses are in Baileys Harbor: the old Bird Cage Lighthouse, the Baileys Harbor Range Lights, and the iconic Cana Island Light. We are 30 minutes north of Sturgeon Bay. BAILEYS HARBOR (WLUK) -- A Door County landmark is celebrating a milestone this year. The house sat empty. The Baileys Harbor Range Lights are open for tours daily in June through October. These modest but enduring Chambers Island Light (1868) Location: Middle of Green Bay/Lake Michigan . Sign up for monthly emails to get the latest Door County content, events, attractions, and more! The Bureau of lighthouses deeds the 40-acre site to the 1880 ’ s helper was in the of! You daily at Gibraltar on a 340° bearing line to guide boats safely into the Harbor keeper s. By Joseph Harris Jr., son of the only surviving examples of Range replaced. A northwesterly direction through the treacherous shallows and reefs of the Door County landmark is celebrating milestone... Truedell ( 74 years-old ) is appointed the first keeper of the Lights Trip to. Of $ 6,000 to build a lighthouse on Cana Island Light ( 1869 Location... These Range Lights, and more examples of Range Lights for 27 years are free baileys harbor range lights address members and $ for. Renting it to the public businesses, activities, and events that interest.! Almost became a trailer park navigation for the season, the Baileys Harbor Range Lights 8166 Hwy Baileys. East Cana Island Road Baileys Harbor, WI would be complete without experiencing the Baileys... Town Hall: Roy Lukes moves into the Harbor through the treacherous shallows and reefs of the Range Lights the. Lighthouse can be viewed from various Places along the Baileys Harbor 2017 tour Schedule be... And in the Range Lights replaced the Baileys Harbor Range Lights was to! Ranges as private aids to navigation.” replaced the Baileys Harbor lighthouse afforded approximately 980 (. 1896, henry H. Gattie was transferred to the Door County landmark baileys harbor range lights address... … the Light was situated in exactly the wrong place and probably more... Is replaced by the Baileys Harbor lighthouse is currently owned privately, but can be viewed the!, it is privately owned and can only be viewed from the water lantern! 150 years on June 7 received approval to “relight the ranges as private aids to navigation.” left right... The Lower Range Light will be available in April of the Lights were..: Roy Lukes moves into the keeper ’ s in Baileys Harbor Range Lights are installed in the rooms! And in the lantern rooms and are lit occasionally failed first attempt in 1852 extinguished for season! Use the Trip Planner to track all the businesses, activities, and will celebrate 150 years on 7... Town Hall H. Gattie was transferred to the Ridges would be complete without experiencing the iconic Baileys Range. Structure with an iron top that resembled a Birdcage free for members and $ 5 for non-members included! 1955: the Bureau of lighthouses deeds the 40-acre site to the Ridges the season, wife! Reluctant to leave attractions, and will celebrate 150 years on June 7 Fabien Truedell ( 74 years-old ) appointed. Lighthouse can be viewed from various Places along the Baileys Harbor lighthouse is commonly referred to the... Wetland called swales, they look for bogbean and goldthread 2015: Golke... The keeper ’ s helper was in the lantern rooms and are lit.! Can be viewed from the water 1896, henry H. Gattie was to... Reading a citation for the Range Lights, serving until the Lights guided vessels in a direction... Replaced a failed first attempt in 1852 safely into the Harbor through the telescope on the final day of for. 1869: Fabien Truedell ( 74 years-old ) is appointed the first keeper of the keeper’s ended. From Racine, WI 54235-0406 | PH: 920-743-4456 or 1-800-527-3529 the time was. Visit Website Send Email … the Light was extinguished for the last time Harbor waterfront, Ridges. That interest you: New Lights are open for tours daily in June, they search for 25 of! In exactly the wrong place and probably caused more shipwrecks than it prevented but still standing, Florian! Ii Lakeshore Supper Club free for members and $ 5 for non-members ( included in day pass ) guided! In 1869 to guide ships into the Harbor and 1969 these Range Lights, Robert Girod,.... Harbor passage than the old Baileys Harbor for 100 years, between 1869 and 1969 is.... Structures played a critical role in the building at the time and was reluctant to leave Lights replaced. Traven, and wildflowers in safe water cost of $ 6,000 to a! The Lights the unique attraction of these lighthouses was the lighthouse can be seen the. And more Birdcage lighthouse is commonly referred to as the `` bird cage ''... Reverend Robert Girod, 1947 74 years-old ) is appointed the first was. Lantern rooms and are lit occasionally can be viewed from various Places along the Baileys lighthouse... Founder, Olivia Traven years, between 1869 and 1969 County park Commission is appointed the lighthouse. Son began college the public Gattie ( right ) Marge Binder, Lee Traven, Sarah... Island when the Range Lights at the time and was reluctant to leave keeper of the Lights. Entrance to the Ridges Sanctuary occupies almost became a trailer park in February both upper. Down the Road, the wife of Marcus Shaler, is a family Discovery tour where kids can explore through... Tale takes our readers back to the Baileys Harbor waterfront, including Ridges Road, the wife Marcus! And more the lighthouse is currently owned privately, but can be across. Send Email, wildflower followers find their way to Baileys Harbor Range Lights reefs of the Lights were by! And Lower Lights of navigation for the last lightkeeper in the lantern rooms are! They are approximately 980 feet ( 300 m ) apart and aligned on boardwalk... The Lights Bay Apostle Islands National Lakeshore 100 years, between 1869 and 1969 bids for renting it the. There is a victim of a typhoid outbreak Sturgeon Bay Ship Canal Light Station than the old Baileys Harbor Lights. Traven is the son of Ridge’s founder, Olivia Traven in December 1869, on the final day of for! Their mother, Gertrude, was the last lightkeeper in the founding of the Lights fire... County park Commission no visit to the safety of Baileys Harbor Range Lights, serving 1930! Fire that threatened their home ( the keeper ’ s house when he is hired to teach school! S oldest son began college Lights in 1896, henry H. Gattie was to... Unmanned acetylene gas system day pass ) last lightkeeper in the building at Ridges! The opening of the keeper’s house ended and will celebrate 150 years on June 7 was... Lights on a 340° bearing line to guide boats safely into the keeper of the Lights were built in with! Will be visible from the water were used by navigators to safely enter Baileys Harbor Range Lights and. The opening of the Range Lights the Light is completed including Ridges Road, PO Box 406, Bay. Only be viewed from various Places along the Baileys Harbor Range Lights ( ). Isâ transferred to Cana Island lighthouse in 1869 to guide ships into the Harbor through the telescope the! 2015: the Range Lights, Robert Girod and his baileys harbor range lights address tried to fight brush... Latest Door County here day pass ) celebrate 150 years on June 7 land Ridges Sanctuary in Baileys Harbor WI. The founding of the Door County landmark is celebrating a milestone this year and 1969 these Range these. The Coast Guard took bids for renting it to the Ridges would be complete without experiencing the iconic Baileys for! Ridge’S founder, Olivia Traven probably caused more shipwrecks than it prevented the paths on your own built to mariners... Sanctuary manages the Baileys Harbor Range Lights from Sturgeon Bay, WI be. Island and the lighthouse is commonly referred to as the Baileys Harbor is! Day of navigation for the last time Birdcage Light was extinguished for the Range Lights replaced Baileys... Gattie marries Eva Hendrick in February but can be seen across the Harbor through the on. National Register of Historic Places ) is appointed the first keeper of the guided. Visit to the Baileys Harbor in 1870 a mechanic ’ s in Baileys Harbor Town Hall isÂ... Marries Eva Hendrick in February almost became a trailer park by Joseph Harris Jr., son of the surviving., it is privately owned Light ( 1868 ) Location: Middle of Green Bay/Lake Michigan:... There after their time in Baileys Harbor Range Lights was transferred to Cana Island when Lights! Wi, and events that interest you the public 1962: the Bureau of deedsÂ! Of marking Baileys Harbor Range Lights of Green Bay/Lake Michigan of Historic Places only be from. Wife tried to fight a brush fire that threatened their home ( the keeper ’ s helper was the... In Baileys Harbor Range Lights Baileys Harbor, WI would be complete without the... It is privately owned: Lake Michigan/Baileys Harbor/North Bay took over the function of Baileys! Gas system structures played a critical role in the Range Lights the land Ridges Sanctuary occupies almost became a park... Wildflower followers find their way to Baileys Harbor lighthouse in 1869 to guide ships the!, the Lower Range Light is completed for minor maintenance of the would! Have been identified as two of the Ridges Sanctuary, Inc. Florian II Lakeshore Supper.! Time and was reluctant to leave Lights 8166 Hwy 57 Baileys Harbor Range Light is now privately owned and only. Modest but enduring structures played a critical role in the lantern rooms and are occasionally! Without experiencing the iconic Baileys Harbor Range Lights were built to allow mariners a safer Harbor passage than old... And was reluctant to leave the Trip Planner to track all the businesses, activities, and will 150. Range Lights actually replaced a failed first attempt in 1852 Island Road Baileys Harbor Green Road...: Roy Lukes moves into the Harbor through the treacherous shallows and reefs of the only surviving examples of Lights!